coconut oil and mug

In my 21 Day Reboot from Unhealthy Anonymous, it says to put Coconut Oil in your coffee.

What?

According to the reboot, you should put a tablespoon of coconut oil in your coffee.  OR put your coffee and some coconut oil in the blender and froth it up to get a hot foamy beverage.

The skeptic in me said “hell no” and “step back from my mug of happiness”.  I had 2 fantastic cups of delicious dark energy with a little half-and-half thrown in for good measure. And since i had my fix, I figured, what the heck.  Might as well try it – it’s not going to destroy my morning.

Coconut oil you may know has crazy good stuff in it. It’s good for your skin, your brain. It’s anti-bacterial and anti-fungal. And it’s darn yummy in cooking.

coconut oil slickBut in coffee?

Honestly, it tastes really good. Surprisingly good. It brings out some fantastic notes in the coffee flavor.

What takes getting used to is seeing a pool of oil on the top of your coffee.

And it’s going to take a little for me to get used to the concept that not all fats are bad.

So I’ll happily add some coconut oil in my coffee each morning for the rest of the reboot. Guessing they might not offer that as an add-in at Starbucks though…

