I bought too much asparagus.  I didn’t think it was possible. But I did.

We ended up working late and eating out more than planned last week – so I sadly looked in our refrigerator, and had to figure out just what to do with bonus greens slowly wilting in the crisper.

quiche final

The verdict – make a quiche. Turns out my real man loves quiche, and it fits in our vegetarian focus…so I combined a few recipes I found online – and WOW. This was fantastic.  I plan to make this a lot, with many variations.  Who knew this could be so easy?

(and I’m not sure my husband even realized that the crust was missing!)

This is also very affordable. The eggs were $1.20 a dozen at Aldi. The asparagus was $2/lb at Kroger. The mushrooms were $1.20 a container at Aldi. 4 cups of cheese was on sale at Kroger for $2.50.  Not too shabby.  Add in a salad and some garlic bread and you have a delicious dinner. Or brunch.

Just a reminder, I love to experiment when cooking and rarely measure stuff…so these measurements are estimates. Be free. Make mistakes. That’s how you discover the good stuff – not just in food, but in life.

So here we go!

Asparagus and Mushroom Crustless Quiche –

1/2 onion – diced

1 tbsp minced garlic

1/2 a bunch of fresh asparagus – clean by snapping off the bottoms, and then cutting into bite sized pieces

4 mushrooms, sliced

5 eggs

3 cups mozzarella

1/4 cup parmesan – shredded

fresh herbs

salt and pepper

 

Heat oven to 350.

In a medium skillet, heat 1 Tbsp over medium heat and saute onion about 3 or 4 minutes.  Add in the garlic and cook until fragrant (but not brown!), about 1 minute.  Add in asparagus and saute about 5 more minutes. Then add in mushrooms and saute for another few minutes.

quiche saute

While this is cooking, wisk together with a fork eggs, cheese, herbs and salt and pepper in a large bowl. (for the herbs, I just cut some rosemary, basil and oregano from the garden. You could use italian seasoning mix, chives, dill…whatever. I also just used a pinch of salt and pepper.)

quiche eggs

Add in the vegetables to the egg mix and stir.

Lightly butter a 9 inch pie pan.  Add the quiche mix to the prepared pan, and place in oven.  Cook for 20-25 minutes, depending on how burnt you like your cheese.

Now – get thinking.  You could use any variety of vegetables you want to use up. Some future variations will include tomato, zucchini, spinach, faux-sausage, pesto…I can’t wait to try them!

Enjoy! Let me know if you try this awesome quiche — and what changes you make to the recipe!

quiche final

