This year, for Lent, you may know I’m reading a devotional that I’m flat out giddy about…sadly, it’s a bit hard to find.  I should have shared this earlier…

lent

But what else?  I know that this is a season where many people give up something…but I know that if I gave up sweets or chocolate or wine – I would say that it’s because of Lent…but it would honestly be more of a test on if I could do it – or because it would be a great way to lose a few pounds over the next 6 weeks.  Lets be honest, when someone says “here eat a brownie” if you say “it’s Lent” they don’t badger you on it.  They go – “oh, that’s cool” and then they eat the brownie.

I want to be honest about that. (Plus I did give up sugar one year. And then on Easter I ate a box of marshmallow peeps.  And then I threw up.)

At church on Sunday, part of the sermon was about light in the darkness.  And then I saw a sweet video about an elderly woman who waves at school children as they walk by her house each day.  This Valentine’s Day, the teens honored her because they knew, no matter how bad their day was, she would be there with a smile and a wave.

So I decided that’s what I could take up this season.  Highlighting the people  who do whatever they can do be a light.  Not big organizations. Not famous people (ok – maybe a few famous people)… but just folks that I run into who make a difference.  I bet many of them don’t even know it.

I was going to post one today – but I decided that a picture would need to be added…so tomorrow I’ll need to start documenting…until then…

Remember that lent and ash Wednesday is not just about putting away the bad things. It is about creating good things and helping the poor and the needy, being kind to people and much more.
~ Jacob Winters

